Skip to main content


Posted 3/13/18 (Tue)

North Dakota pilots complete “fly NORTH DAKOTA airports” passport program

On Sunday, March 4th fourteen pilots were presented with awards for participating in the “Fly North Dakota Airports” Passport Program. The passport program presents awards to pilots for flying to airports in the state as well as attending FAA Safety Seminars and visiting the two North Dakota Air Museums.

Three pilots were presented with bronze awards for visiting at least thirty airports and attending one safety seminar. These pilots received a polo shirt embroidered with the North Dakota Flying Legacy logo. The bronze award recipients were:

Kreg Anderson

Alexandria, MN

Kai Engstrom

Bismarck, ND

Dr. David Hochhalter

Valley City, ND


One Pilot was presented with the silver award for visiting at least sixty airports, one air museum and attending two safety seminars. This pilot received a flight bag embroidered with the North Dakota Flying Legacy logo. The Silver award recipient was:               


James Busch

Grand Forks, ND


The most prestigious gold award level was achieved by Ten pilots during 2017. These pilots received a leather flight jacket embroidered with the North Dakota Flying Legacy logo in addition to the bronze and silver awards. This prestigious accomplishment is achieved when visiting all 89 public use airports in North Dakota, visiting both air museums and attending at least 3 FAA Safety seminars. These ten pilots join Forty-Three others who have completed the passport program in previous years.

The following is a list of the ten individuals:

Hank Bodmer

Kenmare, ND

Reid Gagner

Fargo, ND

Mark Gainor

Milnor, ND

Mitch Gwidt

Green Bay, WI

Lawrence Hubbard

Wilton, ND

Ben James

Norcross, GA

Flint Kasowski

Buffalo, ND

Ron Lundquist

Kindred, ND

Kevin Pfeifer

Buffalo, ND

Kevin Vossler

Bismarck, ND


The awards presentation was conducted at the Fargo Air Museum (Fargo, ND), in conjunction with the Upper Midwest Aviation Symposium. Presenting the awards was Kyle Wanner, Director of the North Dakota Aeronautics Commission. The program is sponsored by the North Dakota Department of Commerce’s Tourism Division in partnership with the Aeronautics Commission, the Airport Association of North Dakota, and the North Dakota Pilots Association.

Included in the attached photo: (Left to Right) Lawrence Hubbard, Ron Lundquist, Reid Gagner, Hank Bodmer, Kevin Pfeifer, Flint Kasowski, Mark Gainor, Kevin Vossler