UAS Registration Requirements
The State of North Dakota does not currently require a state registration of Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) unless using for aerial applicating purposes, however the Federal government does. All aircraft weighing more than 0.55 pounds (250 grams) and less than 55 pounds (approx. 25 kilograms), including payloads such as on-board cameras, must register with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).
The FAA's Small UAS registry is now live and ready for UAS owners to use at https://registermyuas.faa.gov/
During the registration process, each owner must provide his or her name, home address and e-mail address. When registration is complete, the web application will generate a Certificate of Aircraft Registration/Proof of Ownership including a unique identification number for the UAS owner, which must be marked on the aircraft.
Owners using the model aircraft for hobby or recreation will only have to register once and may use the same identification number for all of their model UAS. The registration is valid for three years.
Owners may use either the paper-based process or the new streamlined, web-based system. Owners using the new streamlined web-based system must be at least 13 years old to register.
If assistance is needed with registration, email UAShelp@faa.gov. Phone assistance is available at 844-244-3565.
The FAA also reminds unmanned aircraft owners there's no need to work with a “drone registration” company to help file an application for a registration number. The Registration site is designed to be simple and easy to use for every hobbyist.
The FAA has partnered with several industry associations to educate the public about using unmanned aircraft safely and responsibly. Remember these rules when you fly:
- Fly at or below 400 feet
- Keep your UAS within sight
- Never fly near other aircraft, especially near airports
- Never fly over groups of people
- Never fly over stadiums or sports events
- Never fly near emergency response efforts such as fires
- Never fly under the influence
- Be aware of airspace requirements
Because drones currently do not qualify as an Aircraft under Chapter 57-40.5-01, they will be subject to the North Dakota Sales and Use Tax Laws. Information on local taxes in addition to the state sales tax rates can be found here: https://www.tax.nd.gov/business/sales-and-use-tax/local-taxes-city-and-county-taxes. Questions regarding tax on drones should be directed to the North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner at (701) 328-3464.