Skip to main content

Passport Program

The North Dakota Aeronautics Commission partnering with the North Dakota Department of Commerce- Tourism division, along with the ND Pilot’s Association and Airport Association of ND are co­sponsoring the “Fly North Dakota Airports” passport program. The program rewards pilots who fly to North Dakota’s publicly­owned airports, attend FAA safety seminars, and visit North Dakota’s aviation museums. “Fly North Dakota Airports” promotes safety and education, and encourages pilots to practice approaches and landings in many different environments. It’s also a great way to support general aviation airports, businesses, and tourism.”



To participate in the program pilots should pick up a Fly North Dakota Airports passport book and keep it with them while they fly. Each publicly­owned airport in North Dakota, as well as both air museums, will have a stamp that pilots use to stamp the appropriate box in their passport book. Once an award level is reached the pilot mails or presents their passport book to the North Dakota Aeronautics Commission office in Bismarck. Awards and recognition will be given at the annual Upper Midwest Aviation Symposium.



1. Once I complete the Bronze level, can I continue using my same passport for the Silver or Gold levels?

Yes, once a passport has been submitted and reviewed, it is returned to its owner and can be used to advance to the next level of the program.

2. Where at the airport do I find the stamp?

At most of North Dakota’s airports the stamp resides in the Arrival and Departure Building next to the visitors log. Or they are in “Box on Post” near the hangar or spray office.

3. I visited a North Dakota Airport that wasn’t able to stamp my passport (no stamp, no passports, etc.). What do I do?

If you are unable to get a stamp at a North Dakota airport, please contact the North Dakota Aeronautics Commission on time and date of visit, 701-­328­-9650.

4. Who is eligible?

Any FAA licensed pilot from any state can participate in the North Dakota passport program.

North Dakota Pilots Association




Please complete the form below or use this link                                            






Gold Level Recipients in attendance at the 2020 awards presentation 

Included in the attached photo: (Left to Right)

Matthew Brugger, Naomi Haye, David Hochalter, Chuck Refling, Joshua Simmers, John Vold



Past Gold Level Recipients

Year Name City
2021 Deen Brecht Golden Valley, ND
2021 Pat Fagan Paulden, AZ
2021 Jean Moe Detroit Lakes, MN
2021 Michael Moe Detroit Lakes, MN
2021 David Operchal Minot, ND
2021 Jayme Opp West Fargo, ND
2021 Dale Ripplinger Cathay, ND
2021 Scott Williamson Phoenix, AZ
2020 Matthew Brugger Jamestown, ND
2020 Walter Coombe Bismarck, ND
2020 Michael Haubrich Racine, WI
2020 Patrick Haye Minot, ND
2020 Naomi Haye Minot, ND
2020 David Hochalter Valley City, ND
2020 Keith Hugo Grand Forks, ND
2020 Jon Owen Luverne, ND
2020 Chuck Refling Bottineau, ND
2020 Kyle Schmaltz Minot, ND
2020 Joshua Simmers Carson, ND
2020 John Vold Fargo, ND
2020 Tami Witt Racine, WI
2019 James Busch Chicago, IL
2019 Terry Bryn Dazey, ND
2019 Kelly Braun Dickinson, ND
2019 Gale Hansen Valley City, ND
2019 Keney Krein Ellendale, ND
2018 Hank Bodmer Kenmare, ND
2018 Reid Gagner Fargo, ND
2018 Mark Gainor Milnor, ND
2018 Mitch Gwidt Green Bay, WI
2018 Lawrence Hubbard Wilton, ND
2018 Ben James Norcross, GA
2018 Flint Kasowski Buffalo, ND
2018 Ron Lundquist Kindred, ND
2018 Kevin Pfeifer Buffalo, ND
2018 Kevin Vossler Bismarck, ND
2017 Doug Anderson Berthold
2017 Carol-Beth Beaird Aledo, TX
2017 Arvid Boe Langdon
2017 Francis Butler Fargo
2017 Devin Cole Minot
2017 Brad Cruff Wahpeton
2017 Todd Ellig Horace
2017 Wendy Lessig Tooele, UT
2017 NIck Meyer Burbank, CA
2017 John Morgan Mandan
2017 Jay Pratt Ft. Worth TX
2017 Roy Seckerson Jamestown
2017 John Solberg Bismarck
2017 Yvette Tracy Elyria, OH
2017 Bill Tracy Elyria, OH
2017 Pete Weisbeck Bismarck
2017 Jake Werner Fargo
2017 Roy Wiege Bismarck
2016 Keith Landeis Mandan
2016 John Ronsberg Bismarck
2016 Shawn Anderson Rogers
2016 Jerry Miller Garrison
2016 Hubert Bleese Enderlin
2016 Larry Loose Jamestown
2016 Bob Roswick Bismarck
2016 Harold McConnell Cavalier
2016 Jamie Bryn Dazey
2016 Francis Cox Duvall, WA
2016 Terry Schaff Bowman
2015 John Goerger Barney
2015 Allan Goerger Barney
2015 Thomas Benson Lakota
2015 Michael Paulson Fargo
2014 William Ueckert Bismarck
2014 Keith Veil Jamestown
2014 Dale Seckerson Jamestown
2014 Jay Dugan Jamestown
2014 Jon Kreilkamp Valley City
2014 Richard Cavett Enderlin
2014 Rodney Schaff Bowman
2013 Larry Gebhardt Grand Forks
2013 Jeff Faught Bismarck
2012 Deon Villhauer Bismarck