Skip to main content

ND Aeronautics Director Elected to NASAO Leadership Position

Posted 3/25/22 (Fri)

North Dakota Aeronautics Commission is pleased to announce that our Executive Director, Kyle Wanner has been recently elected to serve as the Secretary for the National Association of State Aviation Officials (NASAO). executive officer positions within NASAO are annual terms and the officers transition to a higher level of leadership each year until the position of Chair is attained. For this reason, it is our expectation that Kyle will play a large role within NASAO’s leadership structure for multiple years into the future.

“This is excellent news for North Dakota,” stated Warren Pietsch, current Chair of the North Dakota Aeronautics Commission. “The ability for our state to have an active participant and leadership role on NASAO’s Executive Committee ensures that North Dakota will continue to have a national presence and voice within the field of aeronautics.”

“I am honored to be elected by the nation‘s state aviation directors to serve on NASAO’s executive committee,” said Wanner. “I look forward to working with the organization as well as our aviation leaders throughout the country to further enhance, promote, and develop all facets of aviation.”

Anthony McCloskey, Chair of NASAO and Director of the Bureau of Aviation, Multimodal Transportation for the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, emphatically stated, “Kyle will have an immediate impact to the Executive Board for NASAO as Secretary. He brings to the board a wide range of aviation experience in addition to serving as past NASAO Regional Director for the Great Lakes Region.”

NASAO’s President and CEO, Greg Pecoraro said the NASAO team is excited to be working more closely with Kyle as he becomes NASAO’s new Secretary. “Kyle brings great aviation leadership experience to the role, and we are pleased that our officers remain geographically diverse. NASAO’s leaders and members are more engaged in the organization than ever, and Kyle’s willingness to step up now is proof of that commitment.”


Members of the 2021 – 2022 NASAO Executive Committee include:

  • Anthony McCloskey, PA – NASAO Chair
  • Dave Ulane, CO – NASAO Vice Chair
  • James Stephens, SC – NASAO Treasurer
  • Kyle Wanner, ND – NASAO Secretary
  • Bobby Walston, NC – NASAO Immediate Past Chair



About the National Association of State Aviation Officials

NASAO is dedicated to representing the interests of the states and the public before policymakers at the federal level. Its goal is to ensure the nation has a safe, secure, efficient, and well-funded aviation system as a powerful economic engine for growth and job creation across the nation. NASAO is the only organization deeply invested in representing the public interest in all facets of aviation and airports. NASAO members organize, promote, and fund a wide variety of aviation programs across the nation. More information on the organization can be found on its website at: