Skip to main content

ND Aeronautics Commission Member – Kim Kenville Appointed to National DOT Working Group

Posted 1/10/17 (Tue)

US Department of Transportation Acting Assistant Secretary for Aviation and International Affairs Jenny T. Rosenberg recently announced the members of the new Working Group on Improving Air Service to Small Communities which includes Aeronautics Commission member – Kim Kenville, Grand Forks.

The Working Group will consist of 25 stakeholders involved in air transportation to small communities. The group will advise Congress on current and emerging priorities, issues, and funding needs related to providing air service to small communities.

The Working Group was created in accordance with Section 2303 of the FAA Extension, Safety, and Security Act of 2016 (Reauthorization Bill), P.L. 114-190. The Reauthorization Bill established the Working Group and directs the Secretary of Transportation to issue a report to Congress by July 2017. The inaugural meeting of the Working Group is expected to be held at the end of January.

“We are very excited to have one of our very own Aeronautics Commissioners represented on this National DOT working group.” stated Kyle Wanner, Director of the ND Aeronautics Commission.  “We know that Commissioner Kenville will work hard to help identify the solutions required to help improve air service to small communities throughout North Dakota and the country.”



Members of the working group include: 


Representative Member List


Mr. Joshua Abramson, Airport Director, Easterwood Airport, College Station, Texas

Mr. Andrew Bonney, Senior Vice President of Planning, Cape Air

Mr. Timothy Bradshaw, Roanoke-Blacksburg Regional Airport, Roanoke, Virginia

Mr. Bryan Dietz, Vice President, Air Service Development at Allegheny County Airport Authority

Mr. Jack Dokken, Program Manager, South Dakota Department of Transportation, Office of Aeronautics 

Mr. Toby Fauver, Deputy Secretary for Multimodal Transportation, Pennsylvania Dept. of Transportation

Mr. Barry Griffith, Manager/Airport Director, Northwest Alabama Regional Airport, Muscle Shoals, Alabama

Ms. Laurie Gill, Mayor of Pierre, South Dakota

Ms. Kim Kenville, Professor, John D. Odegard School of Aerospace Sciences, University of North Dakota

Mr. Doug Kimmel, Airport Director, Veterans Airport of Southern Illinois, Marion, Illinois

Mr. Brian Kinsey, Assistant Director, Marketing and Business Development, St. Louis-Lambert International Airport, St. Louis, Missouri

Mr. Stan Little, Chairman and CEO, Southern Airways Express

Ms. Faye Malarkey Black, President, Regional Airline Association (RAA)

Mr. Richard B. McQueen, President & CEO, Akron/Canton Regional Airport, Ohio

Mr. Russell W. Mills, Research Fellow, Center for Regional Development, Associate Professor Political Science, Bowling Green State University

Mr. Mike Mooney, Air Service Consultant, Sixel Consulting

Mr. Stephen Morrissey, Vice President, Regulatory and Policy Affairs, United Airlines

Mr. Patrick Murphy, former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Aviation and International Affairs, U.S. Department of Transportation

Mr. Paul Ryder, Resource Coordinator, Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA)

Mr. Brian Sowa, Executive Director, Rural Air Service Alliance, Inc.

Mr. Brian Sprenger, Airport Director, Bozeman Yellowstone International Airport, Montana

Mr. William S. “Bill” Swelbar, Executive Vice President, InterVISTAS Consulting

Ms. Sheri Taylor, Air Service Development Program Manager at Wyoming Department of Transportation Aeronautics Division

Mr. Mike Thompson, COO, SkyWest Airlines

Mr. Michael Tooley, Director, Montana Department of Transportation




Subject Matter Experts (SME)


Mr. Rob Burke, Manager, Air Carrier Training Systems & Voluntary Safety Programs Branch, Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)